The London Summer

So,

I’ve decided to begin a small journal of stuff I will do/ experience for the first time and see how it all goes. This is my first summer in London, finally. Although I won’t be spending the whole time here, I look forward to seeing mush more it in the kind of ‘daylight’ I’m used to seeing when I’m in Malawi. Interesting how the weather can impact on one’s mindset (consciously or subconsciously, positively or not so much). Coming from Glasgow (as we speak), I’ve seen the chirpy personality that can suddenly paint the face of any city’s  population. When the sun comes out. Waking up to darkness on a Monday during anybody’s credit crunch  is clearly not the ideal way to make a naturally good impression on your first day at work. A childhood buddy of mine, now a lawyer, promptly informed me of the effect the weather can have. Simply put, winter far above the equator can be very depressing, especially of all you are seeing is concrete, four walls and one ceiling most of everyday. If one doesn’t maintain a good level of activity that helps release endorphins (i.e. gym,  it’s not easy. Trust me on that.

Anyway.

I’ve adapted quite well to the freeze, drizzle and all of that. I have honestly surprised myself. I can attribute this process of acclimatization to the database that is my music. Coming from the warm heart of Africa, I can’t help but naturally lighten up my room with some music. That’s just what we do. I listen to everything. And I mean EVERYTHING. How often I listen to what is another story. So, in making it through a cold winter with my music and performing decently on the academic front, I look forward to a brand new experience. The experience of London in summer, with no lectures to make. Don’t get it misconstrued though, productivity is definitely on the agenda. That is by default. So, in my first piece under my slot ‘The 1st time’, I’m happily waiting to give out seconds on my London summer experience. A bit of sunshine for a recession did no one any harm. Come and eat!

~ by princemalawi on May 31, 2009.

5 Responses to “The London Summer”

  1. Good to come across your blog~ Looking forward to interesting updates from you 🙂 x Sheetal

  2. No doubt, always refreshing to get different insight into things.

  3. Very interesting :). A condition neatly described as SAD by the good old NHS. I will be interested in learning how your experience of a London summer will tell us. Have fun

  4. For those unfortunate summer nights when it feels a lot like an African winter… remember the words of Albert Camus: “In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer”
    YOU are your summer… enjoy it… the sun is always shining, even on grey London days 🙂

Leave a comment